Earthquake Engineering Questions and Answers – Seismotectonics of India

This set of Earthquake Engineering Multiple Choice Questions & Answers (MCQs) focuses on “Seismotectonics of India”.

1. Which of these is the most tectonically active mountain belts in the world?
a) Himalayan belt
b) Appalachians belt
c) Rocky mountain belt
d) Tasman belt
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: Himalayan belt is the most tectonically active belts in the world. It is one of the rarest sites of continental-continental collisions. Most of the disastrous earthquakes of magnitude more than 5 on the Richter scale between the years 1897-1952 have occurred along this belt.

2. There are faults in the Indian peninsula oriented in the North East direction because of which of these reasons?
a) Northward movement of Indian plate
b) Divergence of the Indian plate from north
c) East ward movement of Indian plate
d) West ward movement of the Indian plate
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The Indian plate moves in the northward direction and converges along the Himalayas. In this process it transmits large northerly compression in the Indian Peninsula leading to faults in the north east direction.

3. Which of these faults are present along the north east and north western boundaries of the Himalaya?
a) Strike-Slip fault
b) Normal fault
c) Reverse fault
d) Undefined
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The Himalayan belt is a result of continental-continental collision between the Indian plate and the Eurasian plate. During this collision, the crust of the Indian plate and the Eurasian plate buckled and rose upwards. Due to this strike and slip of the continental plates Strike-Slip fault have been developed.

4. Bhuj earthquake of 2001 was part of which of these seismically active region?
a) Kutch
b) Konkan
c) Kumaon
d) Khar
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The Bhuj earthquake occurred in the Kutch region of Gujarat, India in the year 2001.The magnitude of the earthquake was 7.7 on the Richter scale. It lead to 20,000 deaths.

5. The seismicity of the Himalaya has been divided into how many regions?
a) 7
b) 4
c) 3
d) 9
View Answer

Answer: c
Explanation: The seismicity of Himalayas has been divided into 3 regions. They are-Punjab Himalaya, Kumaon Himalaya and the Nepal Himalaya. The Punjab Himalaya lies between the river Indus and river Satluj. It has a length of about 560 Km. The Kumaon Himalayas are 320 Km long and it lies between the Satluj and Kali river. The Nepal Himalaya lies between Kali and Tista rivers and has a length of about 800 Km.

6. Which of the following is not a part of the seismic regions of India as identified by the Geological survey of India?
a) Himalayas region
b) Andaman Nicobar region
c) Lakshadweep region
d) Kutch region
View Answer

Answer: d
Explanation: The seismicity of India has been divided into four regions. They are – Himalayas region, Andaman Nicobar region, Kutch region and peninsular region. The Lakshadweep region is not a part of seismically active regions of India.

7. If the depth of the fault in earthquake is less than 70 Km, the earthquake is called as __________
a) Shallow depth earthquake
b) Narrow depth earthquake
c) Intermediate depth earthquake
d) Deep depth earthquake
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: If the depth of the fault in an earthquake is less than 70 Km it is called as shallow depth earthquake. If the depth is between 71-300 Km it is called intermediate depth earthquake and for depths of above 300 Km it is called a deep earthquake.

8. The earthquake that occurs in the interior of the plate is classified as _______________
a) Inter-plate earthquake
b) Intra-plate earthquake
c) Inter-continental earthquake
d) Intra-continental earthquake
View Answer

Answer: b
Explanation: The earthquake that occurs at the interior of the earth is classified as intra-plate earthquakes whereas the one that occurs along the boundaries is called inter-plate earthquake.

9. The Indian standard code IS 1893 2016 has classified India into how many earthquake zones?
a) 4
b) 5
c) 3
d) 6
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The Indian standard code IS 1893 2016 has classified India into four earthquake zones. Earlier as per IS 1893 2002 the number of zones were five. But in the revised edition of the code, the first zone was clubbed with the second zone, reducing the number of zones to four.

10. Which of these zone factors have been assigned to Zone IV?
a) 0.24
b) 0.36
c) 0.16
d) 0.1
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: A zone factor of 0.24 has been assigned to Zone IV. A zone factor of 0.1 has been assigned to Zone II, 0.16 to Zone III and 0.36 to Zone V. The greater the zone factor greater will be the vulnerability to earthquakes.

Sanfoundry Global Education & Learning Series – Earthquake Engineering.

To practice all areas of Earthquake Engineering, here is complete set of Multiple Choice Questions and Answers.

If you find a mistake in question / option / answer, kindly take a screenshot and email to [email protected]

Subscribe to our Newsletters (Subject-wise). Participate in the Sanfoundry Certification contest to get free Certificate of Merit. Join our social networks below and stay updated with latest contests, videos, internships and jobs!

Youtube | Telegram | LinkedIn | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest
Manish Bhojasia - Founder & CTO at Sanfoundry
Manish Bhojasia, a technology veteran with 20+ years @ Cisco & Wipro, is Founder and CTO at Sanfoundry. He lives in Bangalore, and focuses on development of Linux Kernel, SAN Technologies, Advanced C, Data Structures & Alogrithms. Stay connected with him at LinkedIn.

Subscribe to his free Masterclasses at Youtube & discussions at Telegram SanfoundryClasses.