Earthquake Engineering Questions and Answers – Seismicity of India

This set of Earthquake Engineering Multiple Choice Questions & Answers (MCQs) focuses on “Seismicity of India”.

1. Which of these option does not fall under seismically active, regional classification of India?
a) Andaman and Nicobar region
b) Kutch region
c) Himalaya region
d) Konkan region
View Answer

Answer: d
Explanation: The Konkan region is not a part of the seismically active regional classification of India. Seismicity in India has been divided into four regions – the Himalaya, the Kutch region, the Andaman Nicobar region and the peninsular region.

2. A deep depth earthquake has a focal depth of _______________
a) More than 300 Km
b) Less than 300 Km
c) Equal to 300 Km
d) More than or equal to 300 Km
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: An earthquake is called as shallow earthquake if the focal depth is between 0 to 70 Kilometres. If the depth is around 71 to 300 kilometres it is called an intermediate earthquake and if the depth is greater than 300 kilometres it is called as a deep earthquake.

3. Which of these earthquakes is more harmful?
a) Shallow earthquake
b) Intermediate earthquake
c) Deep earthquake
d) Narrow earthquake
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: A shallow earthquake is more harmful. In a shallow earthquake the fault occurs at a depth of less than 70 Km from the ground surface which results in less absorption of seismic energy in the earth’s interior, leading to more impact to the structures on the ground surface.

4. What is the magnitude of a moderate earthquake on the Richter scale?
a) 5-5.9
b) 7-7.9
c) 3-3.9
d) 4-4.9
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: According to the Richter scale classification, the earthquakes are classified as micro earthquake for a scale of less than 3, intermediate earthquake for a scale of 3-4, moderate earthquake for a scale of 5 to 5.9, strong earthquake for a scale of 6 to 6.9, major earthquake for a scale of 7-7.9 and great earthquake for a scale of more than 8.

5. Which of these cities in India is the most seismically active city?
a) Guwahati, Assam
b) Mumbai, Maharashtra
c) Indore, Madhya Pradesh
d) Surat, Gujarat
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: Guwahati, Assam lies in the Zone V which is the highest earthquake risk zone of India as per IS 1893 2016 classification. Mumbai and Surat lie in Zone III, Indore lies in Zone II.

6. Based on the epicentre distances the earthquakes in India are classified as _____________
a) Local, regional and tele-seismic earthquake
b) Micro and macro earthquake
c) Inter-plate and intra-plate earthquake
d) Shallow and deep earthquake
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: Based on the distances of the epicentre, the earthquakes in India, are classified as local, regional and tele-seismic earthquake. If the epicentre distance is less than 1 degree it is a local earthquake if it is between 1 and 10 degrees it is a regional earthquake and if it is greater than 10 degree it is called as tele-seismic earthquake.

7. Which of these earthquakes caused the largest number of casualties in the history of Indian earthquakes?
a) Bhuj earthquake 2001
b) Koyna earthquake 1967
c) Anjar earthquake 1971
d) Broach earthquake 1970
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The casualties arising from the Bhuj earthquake were 20,000 whereas for Anjar, Koyna, Broach earthquakes the casualties were less than 500.

8. As per Indian Standard zonal classification Mumbai falls in which earthquake zone?
a) Zone II
b) Zone III
c) Zone IV
d) Zone V
View Answer

Answer: b
Explanation: Mumbai lies in the Zone III of IS 1893 2016 classification. The zone indicates the probability and intensity of earthquake in coming fifty years. Higher the zone factor greater the probability and intensity of an earthquake taking place.

9. The provisions relating to the design of earthquake resistant structures is laid down by which of the following organisations?
a) Bureau of Indian Standard
b) Indian Space Research Organisation
c) Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
d) Bhabha Atomic Research Centre
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The guidelines for designing earthquake resistant structures is laid down by Bureau of Indian Standards in form of structural design codes like IS 1893, IS 13920 etc.

10. The Latur earthquake occurred in which year?
a) 1993
b) 2005
c) 2002
d) 1971
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The Latur earthquake occurred in the year 1993.It measured 6.2 on the moment magnitude scale. The focus depth was 10 Km, which was relatively shallow leading to a greater damage.

Sanfoundry Global Education & Learning Series – Earthquake Engineering.

To practice all areas of Earthquake Engineering, here is complete set of Multiple Choice Questions and Answers.

If you find a mistake in question / option / answer, kindly take a screenshot and email to [email protected]

Subscribe to our Newsletters (Subject-wise). Participate in the Sanfoundry Certification contest to get free Certificate of Merit. Join our social networks below and stay updated with latest contests, videos, internships and jobs!

Youtube | Telegram | LinkedIn | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest
Manish Bhojasia - Founder & CTO at Sanfoundry
Manish Bhojasia, a technology veteran with 20+ years @ Cisco & Wipro, is Founder and CTO at Sanfoundry. He lives in Bangalore, and focuses on development of Linux Kernel, SAN Technologies, Advanced C, Data Structures & Alogrithms. Stay connected with him at LinkedIn.

Subscribe to his free Masterclasses at Youtube & discussions at Telegram SanfoundryClasses.