Earthquake Engineering Questions and Answers – Seismic Zone Map of 2002

This set of Earthquake Engineering Multiple Choice Questions & Answers (MCQs) focuses on “Seismic Zone Map of 2002”.

1. A probabilistic analysis was carried out to classify the earthquake zones of the peninsular region after which of the following earthquakes?
a) Killari earthquake 1993
b) Bhuj earthquake 2002
c) Bellary earthquake 1996
d) Bihar-Nepal earthquake 1994
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: After the Killari earthquake of 1993 the BIS felt the need to classify the peninsular region of India based upon the probabilistic zoning approach of earthquake. It was a 6.2 magnitude earthquake.

2. What are the total number of zones as per the 2002 seismic hazard map of India?
a) Three
b) Four
c) Five
d) Six
View Answer

Answer: b
Explanation: The previous revisions of the seismic hazard map classified India into five zones, however after the Latur earthquake of 1993 the BIS merged Zone I with Zone 2 and the code now consists of four zones i.e. II, III, IV and V.

3. Which of the following institutes prepared the seismic hazard map of India in the year 2002?
a) Bureau of Indian Standards
b) Institute of Engineers
c) Geological survey Institute
d) Indian Meteorological Department
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: The seismic hazard map of India was prepared by the Bureau of Indian Standards in the year 2002. The map was prepared on the basis of a probabilistic approach a data from the study of seismotectonics.

4. Which of these approaches of earthquake zoning considers the occurrence of earthquake from multiple sources?
a) Probabilistic approach
b) Deterministic approach
c) Optimistic approach
d) Realistic approach
View Answer

Answer: a
Explanation: A probabilistic approach considers the occurrence of earthquake from multiple sources where as a deterministic approach considers the occurrence of earthquake from a single-source. Therefore, a deterministic approach is a more conservative approach and a combination of it with the probabilistic approach has been it has been adopted by the Bureau of Indian Standards for zoning of the Indian Peninsular region.

5. Which of the following seismic design codes has been adopted for the design of Industrial structures by the Bureau of Indian standards?
a) IS 1893 Part 2
b) IS 1893 Part 3
c) IS 1893 Part 4
d) IS 1893 Part 5
View Answer

Answer: c
Explanation: IS 1893 Part 2 is for seismic design of liquid retaining structures whereas IS 1893 Part 3 is for the design of bridge and retaining walls, IS 1893 Part 4 for the design of industrial structures and IS 1893 Part 5 for seismic design of dams and embankments.

Sanfoundry Global Education & Learning Series – Earthquake Engineering.

To practice all areas of Earthquake Engineering, here is complete set of Multiple Choice Questions and Answers.


If you find a mistake in question / option / answer, kindly take a screenshot and email to [email protected]

Subscribe to our Newsletters (Subject-wise). Participate in the Sanfoundry Certification contest to get free Certificate of Merit. Join our social networks below and stay updated with latest contests, videos, internships and jobs!

Youtube | Telegram | LinkedIn | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest
Manish Bhojasia - Founder & CTO at Sanfoundry
Manish Bhojasia, a technology veteran with 20+ years @ Cisco & Wipro, is Founder and CTO at Sanfoundry. He lives in Bangalore, and focuses on development of Linux Kernel, SAN Technologies, Advanced C, Data Structures & Alogrithms. Stay connected with him at LinkedIn.

Subscribe to his free Masterclasses at Youtube & discussions at Telegram SanfoundryClasses.